IFF announces scholarships

The Industrial Fabrics Foundation (IFF), the philanthropic organization of the specialty fabrics industry, announces ten scholarship winners for the 2012-13 academic year. The IFF has given a total of $26,500 in tuition money to students enrolled in accredited colleges, universities or technical schools.

Don Williams Student Scholarships

The Don Williams IFF Student Scholarships, named for the industry leader who worked to develop the IFF scholarship program, are given annually to students enrolled in textile or textile-related fields of study. Scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement, community service, financial need and interest in a career in the specialty fabrics industry.

  • Simon Chiu, PhD candidate in the School of Architecture at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, Calif.
  • William Reimer, third-year student in the Department of Textile Science, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Canada
  • Muralidhar Lalagiri, PhD candidate in Environmental Toxicology in the Nonwovens & Advanced Materials Laboratory, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas
  • Vinitkumar Singh, PhD candidate in the Nonwovens & Advanced Materials Laboratory, Texas Tech University.

Each of the winners has an extensive background in community service, exemplary academic standing, and commitment to work and research in the specialty textiles industry.

IFAI and division member awards

Scholarships are awarded each year to students who are employed by IFAI member companies or are related to an employee of an IFAI member company. Division scholarships are awarded to students employed by, or related to an employee, of member companies in specific divisions.

The 2012 IFAI Member Scholarship winners include Christopher Alvarez and Austin Goeman. Alvarez, a first year electrical engineering student at Iowa State University, Ames, was sponsored by IFAI member Fabric Images, Elgin, Ill. In addition to an excellent academic record, Alvarez has extensive community service experience. Goeman, a business management major at the University of Wisconsin Whitewater, was sponsored by JK Rentals, Kewaskum, Wis., and recommended because of his outstanding work ethic and leadership qualities.

The 2012 Fabric Graphics Association (FGA) Member Scholarship winner is Rebecca Barth, a communications student at Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, Ohio. Barth was sponsored by Snyder Manufacturing for her 3.5 GPA, participation in community volunteer work and in NCAA sports.

The 2012 Architect Student Scholarship is funded by the Fabric Structures Association (FSA). Billy Chiriboga, a student in the School of Architecture at Woodbury University, Burbank, Calif., has been named the 2012 winner. He is pursuing a degree in architecture with a goal to develop innovative fabric skins which are structural, portable and react kinetically to atmospheric conditions.

The GMA scholarship, funded by the Geosynthetic Materials Association (GMA), was awarded to David Gaddy, a first year student at MIT, Cambridge, Mass. Gaddy was sponsored by Crown Resources, Toccoa, Georgia. He is majoring in engineering and computer science, building on his interest in robotics and software development.

The Tent Rental Division (TRD) Member Scholarship was given to Aaron Markel, a first year student at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, N.Y. Markel was sponsored for the scholarship by Bravo Events Expos, Buffalo, N.Y. He is interested in designing tents for improved safety and reduced setup and take-down time.

The Industrial Fabrics Foundation (IFF) is the non-profit organization of the industrial fabrics industry, dedicated to education and research in specialty fabrics. For more information, visit www.indfabfnd.org or contact the IFF managing director, at +1 651 225 6545.