IFAI’s highest award

Nine Honored Life Members were recognized with IFAI’s highest award at the IFAI Expo Americas 2010 Chairman’s Gala. IFAI Board of Directors Chairman Peter F. McKernan, IFM, who introduced this year’s recipients, said “These individuals deserve our utmost respect and our deepest gratitude.”

Harry Butler has been in the industry and an IFAI member for 35 years. Now at Tri Vantage LLC, he worked for many years in sales and management at The Astrup Co. before moving to a corporate position in its Atlanta, Ga., facility. Butler has trained and mentored a generation of industrial fabrics professionals. 

Linda Delgado, MFC, a 30-year member, became a Master Fabric Craftsman (MFC) in 1986 and has won many IFAI International Achievement Awards. She was a founding member and officer of the Marine Fabricators Association (MFA), a board member of the Southwest Industrial Fabrics Association and served on the IFAI Board of Directors. She has worked tirelessly to promote IFAI and the MFA.

Garland Drew began his career with The Astrup Company in 1967, became vice president of Unitex in 1977 and later became its president. He was vice president of operations for Ultraflex Corp. and since 2001 has been president of Verseidag Seemee USA. He has served on the IFAI Board of Directors and on its executive committee.

Harry Gobble was president of Tri Vantage and actively involved in several IFAI divisions. He is best known for his pioneering work in developing Sunbrella® as a consumer brand. His work in marketing helped to establish Sunbrella as an international product in over 100 countries.

Jeff Kirk, IFM, served 13 years on the IFAI Board of Directors, including two years as chairman. He is the former president of the Astrup Co. He has worked tirelessly for community causes and organizations and is well known as a thoughtful and passionate advocate for our industry.

Carolyn Moon, an IFAI member for 32 years, has served on several steering committees, IFAI panels and on the Professional Awning Manufacturers Association (PAMA) board of directors, and has been a strong supporter of Mid-America 8 and the Upper Midwest Canvas Products Association (UMCPA). Her company, Baraboo Awning, won International Achievement Awards in 1977 and 2005.

Clyde Moon, MFC, has also been active in the industry and a member of IFAI for 32 years. He has served on the panel that evaluates candidates for MFC certification, and as a former chairman for the UMCPA he served on the PAMA board of directors and steering committees and was a workshop presenter.

Nobuo Takeuchi has been in the industry for 35 years and a member of IFAI for 18 years. He has been with Yano Tent since 1975, and its president since 1992. When IFAI Japan was established in 1994, Takeuchi was elected as its vice chairman, was appointed acting chairman in 2007 and became chairman in 2008. Since its inception, he has dedicated himself to the success of IFAI Japan.

Wanda Yonce, vice president, co-owner and CFO of TCT&A Industries, has been a member of IFAI for much of her 40 years in the industry. She served eight years on the board of the Midwest Fabric Products Association, and as its president from 1995–97. She has co-hosted regional conventions and served on the advisory board of Specialty Fabrics Review magazine.