Students take top honors

A team from the University of Wisconsin-Stout, took home first place honors in the 2011 Safety Products Student Design Challenge with a safety suit for protecting rescue workers in underground mine accidents. Students Toni Sabelman, Alicia Mitchell, Jamie Bystrom, Jennifer Whelan and Sarah Furnaé, with the support of instructor Dr. Gindy Neidermyer, designed and executed the two-piece suit that incorporates unique fabrics, foams and reflective materials.

Second place honors went to Elizabeth Hillmann, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, who designed a protective jumpsuit for earthquake rescue crews that incorporates guard plates for abrasion and cut resistance, range-of-motion features and foam padding for sustained compressive impact protection. Dr. Lucy Dunne was her instructor.

The third place team of Anupama Sargur Ranganath, Casey Stannard, Cameron Moon and Lisa Curwen, with instructor Dr. Ajoy Sarkar, designed the Artemis jacket for women hunters, which uses odor-blocking, water-repellent stretch pile fabrics. Unique features include rifle kick-back protection, a smoke mask, and a blaze orange vest with integral signaling mirror and compass system. The students attend Colorado State University in Ft. Collins.

The yearly competition was developed and is supported by Safety and Technical Products and the Narrow Fabrics Institute, special interest groups within IFAI, to encourage post-secondary functional design training and the use of technical textiles in protective and safety applications.