Candidates nominated for IFAI Board position

Dear IFAI Member--

I am delighted to announce an outstanding group of nominees has been proposed by the IFAI Leadership Development Committee for Board of Director positions becoming available in October. The Committee met June 7th and selected the following individuals for the positions indicated:

1st Vice Chairman (and Chairman-elect) / Two-year term: David C. Clarke, TenCate Advanced Composites USA, Inc., Morgan Hill, CA, USA

2nd Vice Chairman / Two-year term: Katie Bradford, MFC, IFM, Custom Marine Canvas, Noank, CT, USA

Directors (three-year terms)

  • Michael Erickson, MFC, Canvas Designers Inc., Riviera Beach, FL, USA
  • Amy Hammond, MMI Textiles, Inc., Rocky River, OH, USA
  • Katharine Schaefer, IFM, Glawe Awning and Tent Company, Fairborn, OH, USA

The Leadership Development Committee carefully reviewed the qualifications of all candidates who applied for the positions. Every attempt was made to select individuals who could provide a spectrum of representation on the board, including geographic location, size of company, types of products or services, familiarity with policy governance models, and experience with association or business management issues. I have enclosed brief biographies of the nominated candidates for your review.

An opportunity is available through the IFAI Bylaws for additional candidates to be considered by the membership. Independent nominations must be in writing, addressed to me as president, and received at IFAI headquarters in Roseville no later than the close of the business day on 22 August 2011. The letter must be accompanied by a petition or letter of support signed by at least fifty (50) members in good standing from the voting member categories.

If no nominations are received by that date, I am instructed by the IFAI Bylaws to place a unanimous vote for the slate of candidates proposed by the Leadership Development Committee. If, however, independent candidates are proposed and meet the qualifications, a mail ballot will be sent out on 26 August to all voting members.


Stephen M. Warner
President & CEO
Industrial Fabrics Association International